Padma Awards from Uttarakhand

Padma Awards, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri are given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including service rendered by Government servants. The recommendations for Padma Awards are received from the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations, Central Ministries/Departments, Institutions of Excellence, etc. which are considered by an Awards Committee. On the basis of the recommendations of the Awards Committee, and after approval of the Home Minister, Prime Minister and President, the Padma Awards are announced on the eve of the Republic Day.

Front face of Padm-Vibhushan Award
Back face of Padm-Vibhushan Award
Front face of Padm-bhushan Award
Back face of Padm-Shri Award
Front face of Padm-Shri Award
Back face of Padm-Shri Award

Following persons from Uttarakhand got the Padma Award. Many of them are nominated by other states not by Uttarakhand State.This is mentioned in bracket where known.

Year 2011

Devi Dutt Sharma: Padma Shri: Literature and Education

Year 2010

Deep Joshi: Padma Shri: Social Work

Year 2009

Shri Sunderlal Bahuguna: Padma Vibhushan:Others


(Sundar Lal Bahuguna)

Year 2008

Dr. Rajendra Kumar Pachauri : Padma Vibhushan:Science & Engineering. (Nominated from Delhi)

Dr. Rakesh Kumar Jain : Padmashri:Medicine (Nominated from Uttarpradesh)

Dr. Mohan Chandra Pant: Padmashri:Medicine (Nominated from Uttarpradesh)

Shri Tom Alter : Padmashri:Arts : (Nominated from Tamil Nadu)

mc-pant rk-jain rk-pachauri tom-alter

[Dr. M.C.Pant, Dr. R.K.Jain, Dr. R.K.Pachauri and Tom Alter (from left)]

Year 2007

Late Prof. Devindra Rahinwal : Padmashri: Social Work

Shri Khalid Zaheer : Padmashri: Social Work

Dr. Lalit Pande : Padmashri: WildLife Conservation

Prof. (Dr.) Shekhar Pathak : Padmashri: Literature & Education

Prof.(Dr.) Kharak Singh Valdiya : Padmashri: Science & Engineering.(Nominated from Karnataka)

prof-kharak-singh-valdiya prof-lalit-mohan-pandey dr-shekhar-pathak

[Prof Valdia, Lalit Pandey and Shekhar Pathak (From Left)]

Year 2006

Dr. Anil Prakash Joshi : Padmashri:Social Work

Dr. Yashodhar Mathpal : Padmashri : Arts

Smt. Madhumita Bisht : Padmashri : Sports (Nominated from Delhi)

Smt. Mrinal Pande : Padmashri: Journalism (Nominated from Delhi)

Shri Mohan Singh Gunjyal : Padmashri : Sports (Nominated from Arunachal Pradesh)

Year 2005

Shri Chandi Prasad Bhatt : Padma Bhusan :Others

Year 2004

Shri Leeladhar Jagoodi : Padmashri: Literature & Education

Dr. Ramesh Chandra Shah : Padmashri : Literature & Education (Nominated from Madhya Pradesh)

Year 2003

Shri Kanhaya Lal Pokhriyal : Padmashri: Sports

Dr. Shri Krishna Joshi : Padma Bhusan: Science & Engineering. (Nominated from Haryana)

Year 2002

Dr. Anand Swarup Arya : Padmashri: Science & Engineering.

Year 2000

Shri Bhairab Datt Pande: Padma Vibhushan:Civil Service

Year 1999

Shri Ruskin Bond: Padmashri: Literature & Education

Vaidya Balendu Prakash: Padmashri: Medicine

Year 1998

Prof. Aditya Naraian Purohit: Padmashri: Science & Engineering

Year 1991

Shri Sonam Paljor : Padmashri:Sports

Shri Ranbir Singh Bisht : Padmashri : Arts (Nominated from Uttar Pradesh)

Year 1990

Shri Kunwar Singh Negi: Padma Bhusan:Literature & Education

Kum. Chandra Prabha Aitwal : Padmashri:Sports (Nominated from Uttar Pradesh)

Year 1986

Shri Avdesh Kaushal: Padmashri: Social Work

Shri Chandi Parsad Bhatt: Padmashri: Social Work

Year 1985

Prof. Dinamani Sridhar Kamat: Padmashri: Civil Service

Year 1984

Shri Krishna Murari Tiwari: Padmashri: Civil Service

Shri John Arthur King Martyn: Padmashri: Literature & Education

Miss Bachendri Pal : Padmashri : Sports (Nominated from Uttar Pradesh)

Shri Nilamber Pant : Padmashri : Science & Engineering. (Nominated from Karnataka)

Year 1983

Shri Narain Singh Thapa : Padmashri: Arts : (Nominated from Maharashtra)

Shri Chhattra Pati Joshi : Padmashri: Civil Service : (Nominated from Delhi)

Year 1982

Rear Francis Leslie Fraser: Padmashri: Science & Engineering.

Smt. Gaura Pant Shivani : Padmashri: Literature & Education (Nominated from Uttar Pradesh)

Year 1981

Shri Kunwar Singh Negi: Padmashri:Social Work

Year 1977

Dr. Vishwa Gopal Jhingran: Padmashri: Science & Engineering.

Year 1975

Shri Bhishan Saroop Bansal: Padmashri:Civil Service

Dr. Shambhu Dayal Sinvhla: Padmashri: Science & Engineering.

Year 1974

Shri Binode Behari Mukherjee: Padma Vibhushan:Arts

Prof. Dinesh Mohan: Padmashri: Civil Service

Shri Deviki Nandan Pande : Padmashri: Social Work

Year 1973

Dr. Maddali Gopala Krishna: Padmashri: Civil Service

Dr. Sridhar Upadhyay : Padmashri: Civil Service

Shri Pitambar Pant : Padma Bhusan :Civil Service (Nominated from Uttar Pradesh)

Year 1972

Major Harsh Vardhan Bahuguna : Padmashri : Sports : (Nominated from Uttar Pradesh)

Year 1989

Shri Dhyan Pal Singh: Padmashri: Civil Service

Year 1967

Shri Mulk Raj Chopra: Padma Bhusan:Civil Service

Year 1969

Shri Ghananand Pande : Padma Vibhushan: Civil Service : ( Nominated from Uttar Pradesh)

Year 1965

Shri Harish Chander Singh Rawat : Padmashri : Sports (Nominated from Delhi)

Year 1961

Shri Sumitra Nadan Pant : Padma Bhusan : Literature & Education (Nominated from Uttar Pradesh)

Year 1959

Shri Laxman Singh Jungpangi: Padmashri (Information provided by Shri N.S.Pangtey ji)

Year 1958

Smt. Kamalendumati Shah : Padma Bhusan : Social Work (Nominated from Delhi)

Year 1956

Shri Sukhdav Pande:Padmashri:Literature & Education


उत्तराखंड से संबंधित समस्त जानकारी इंटरनैट पर लाने का संकल्प लिये एक अदना सा व्यक्ति। अपने फोरम और मेरा पहाड़ के साथ प्रयासरत।

6 responses to “Padma Awards from Uttarakhand”

  1. avatar

    Late Shri Laxman Singh Jungpangi recieved Padma Shree award in the year 1959. He is from Uttakhand and the second person to get this award after Shri Sukhdev Pande in 1956, but his name is notmentioned in the list of award receipients of Uttarakhand.

    You are requested to rectify this mistake.

    I shall be thankful if I am informed about the actions taken by you in this regard.

  2. avatar

    Shri Chhattra Pati Joshi was awarded Padma Shri in 1983 for Civil Services.

    He belonged to Almora.

    Request you to add his name in your list.

    Best regards,


  3. avatar

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for including Mr. Chhattra Pati Joshi's name in the list.

    Best regards,

    Himani Joshi

  4. avatar

    its very sad that Uttranakhand Govt is not referring Mr. Narandera singh Negi's name for those awards; he is one of Great folk singer, composer of uttarakhand,

  5. avatar

    Dr. Ranjit Bhargava from Nainital, Uttrakhand was awarded Padma Shree in the year 2010 for Enviornment Protection and his name seems to be missing from this list. Quite a blunder I would say as he is a prominent citizen of the state with a very strong history and background that dates back to the Mughal rule in India. I would like to request you to kindly make correction in the list.


    R.D. Singh Chandella

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: